UTPB basketball standout Daeshon Francis wins LSC top honors


Cassie Rivera

Daeshon Francis gets the points.

Staff Reports , Staff Reporter

RICHARDSON, Texas – The 2017 Lone Star Conference Male and Female Athletes of the Year included three league standouts as West Texas A&M’s Rellie Kaputin and Marshall Kasowski, and The University of Texas of the Permian Basin’s Daeshon Francis were recognized.  The awards were announced June 21 following a vote of the league’s sports information directors.

Francis led UT Permian Basin to a 26-6 record while capturing the LSC Men’s Basketball Championship and Tournament title in the UTPB Falcon team’s first season in the league.  The junior earned LSC Player of the Year and D2CCA South Central Region Player of the Year honors after scoring 18.2 points per game with a .559 field goal percentage.

The Indianapolis, Indiana native helped the Falcons lead the league and rank 13th nationally in scoring this season, averaging 88.3 points per game. Francis scored in double-figures in 30 of 32 games this season with a season high 34 points.  The LSC Tournament MVP scored at least 20 points 11 times in 2016-17.  Francis paced the team with 48 steals and was second in rebounding (6.6 per game) and assists (3.1).

LSC MALE ATHLETE OF YEAR (Name, School, Year, Sport, Points): , Daeshon Francis, UT Permian Basin, Jr., Men’s Basketball 12; Marshall Kasowski, West Texas A&M, Jr., Baseball, 12; Florian Obst, Texas A&M-Commerce, Jr., Track & Field, 11; Nils Fischer, Angelo State, Fr., Track & Field , 7; Akoakoa Paleka-Kennedy, Midwestern State, Sr., Football, 6; Brandon Jones, Texas A&M-Kingsville, So., Football, 5; Cody Bower, Cameron, Sr., Baseball, 3; Cody Burtscher, Tarleton State, Sr., Football, 3; Alex DeLaCruz, Eastern New Mexico, Sr., Baseball, 1; Jean-Laurent Pageault, Western New Mexico, Sr., Tennis, 0.



Year     Male

2017    Daeshon Francis, UT Permian Basin, Jr., Men’s Basketball

Marshall Kasowski, West Texas A&M, Jr., Baseball


Falcon’s Up!