Falcons represented at LSC ‘Media Day’


Myra Salcedo

UTPB Falcon Linebacker Chris Hoad (formerly of Leander, Texas) left, joins Wide Receiver Mitchell Leonard, formerly of Marshall, Texas at the Lone Star Luncheon and Media Day. Both are returning players this year. UTPB President Sandra K. Woodley also joined the athletes at their table for lunch and most of the program.

Staff Reports , Staff Reporter

The Lone Star Conference 2017 football season was previewed with all nine head coaches (and selected players representing their teams) beginning 11 a.m. July 27, 2017, at the MCM Elegante Hotel located on University Blvd. in Odessa. League officials announced the preseason poll that came as no great surprise with The University of Texas of the Permian Basin ranked last. The new team struggled through its inaugural season last year with notable moments, nonetheless.

Top of the poll was Texas A&M Commerce for 2017. The team claimed its third straight league title with an 8-1 record in 2016. (Time for “Friday Night Lights” to Kick in from the Permian Basin!).

The University of the Texas of the Permian Basin (UTPB) Coach Justin Carrigan took the microphone (during the event) and stated: “These guys have done a pretty good job of understanding what it is we expect out of them. With having guys that have been here for two years, we’re starting to see our culture take shape and it’s been really enjoyable for the coaches over the past few months.”

Sharing the stage with their second-year coach were Falcon Wide Receiver Mitchell Leonard and Linebacker Chris Hoad.

In 2016, at an

Angelo State University game, Quarterback Kameron Mathis added a score on the team’s last possession, throwing a 33-yard touchdown to Leonard with 5:47 remaining.
Leonard caught nine passes for a season-high 215 yards on the night and scored his seventh touchdown of the season. He ended the year with touchdowns in each of his last four games.

Hoad led the defense with 12 total tackles in the same game.

The LSC season begins Aug. 31, consisting of nine teams. Each team will play eight conference games to determine the LSC Champion.

Four teams participated in postseason play last year.

UTPB kicks off the 2017 season Saturday, September 2 at 6 p.m. against Sul Ross State at Ratliff Stadium in Odessa.

Four LSC teams participated in postseason play last season, with A&M-C and MSU advancing to the NCAA Division II playoffs, ENMU playing in the C.H.A.M.P.S. Heart of Texas Bowl, and TAMUK in the Live United Bowl.

No.  Team                                        1st       Total

1    Texas A&M-Commerce            21        229

2    Midwestern State                         2          192

3    Texas A&M-Kingsville               1          177

4    Eastern New                                             136

5    Tarleton State                                1          135

6    Angelo State                                             114

7    West Texas A&M                                      97

T8  Western New Mexico                                45

T8  UT Permian Basin                        1           45